You’re not answerable to anybody or godfather, Gov. Abiodun tells Commissioners

Femi Adeleke
Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun on Friday sworn in 19 Commissioners and 16 Special Advisers as members of the State cabinet.
At the swearing in ceremony, held at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Abeokuta, the State capital, the Governor charged the Commissioners to be steadfast, prudent, accountable and to efficiently integrate their visions into the main focus of his administration.
He warned the Commissioners and the Advisers that they are not answerable to any individual or godfather but be accountable to the people of the State.
His words, “No individual or group is solely responsible for your emergence. You (Commissioners) are therefore not answerable to any one individual, group or godfather.”
“You are accountable to the people who must be at the centre of your work at every point in time. You must remain connected to them and be worthy ambassadors of our Administration’s values of inclusiveness, fairness, equity and justice.”
“Your work ethic, your commitment to service should exemplify our Administration’s mantra, putting people first and working together for the common good.”
“I urge you to be steadfast, prudent, accountable and to efficiently integrate your vision into our two approaches to governance.”
“Let me say, therefore, that your performance in office will be measured and remembered by your successful implementation of these programmes.”
“As you answer this call to service, I want you to begin to think of what you will be remembered for. I wish you all a successful  tenure in office.”
The Governor sought the unwavering support of the people, saying “It is impossible and impractical to appoint everybody. If it has not reached you it is getting closer.”
The newly appointed Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Afolabi Afuape who responded on behalf of his colleagues thanked the Governor for giving them the opportunity to serve the State, assuring that they would not betray the confidence the Governor has in them.
Those sworn in and their portfolios were, Hon. Afolabi Afuape (Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs), Hon Tunji Akinosi (Forestry), Prof. Sidi Osho (Education, Science and Technology ), Dr Adeola Odedina (Agriculture), Mr Olaolu Olabimtan (Budget and Planning), Barr. Gbolahan Adeniran (Justice) and Dr Tomi Coker (Health).
Others are, Barr. Femi Ogunbanwo (Special Duties), Tunji Odunlami (Urban and Physical Planning), Hon. Abiodun Abudu-Balogun (Environment), Mrs Kikelomo Longe (Commerce and Industry), Mr Dapo Okubadejo (Finance), Hon. Oludotun Taiwo (Rural Development), Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat (Community Development and Cooperatives), Mrs Funmi Efuwape (Women Affairs), Mr Kehinde Oluwadare (Youth and Sports), Mr Jamiu Omoniyi (Housing), Mr Toyin Taiwo (Tourism) and Mr Ade Akinsanya (Works and Infrastructure).
READ  Why I picked Adeosun as Oyo State SSG - Makinde

Your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.