The four armed robbers

Four of the bandits, who robbed the Vice Chancellor of Crawford University, Igbesa, Ogun State, Professor Rotimi Ajayi, of his Toyota Highlander SUV, five mobile telephones and an Ipad among others, have been arrested by men of the Federal Anti-Robbery Squad based in Ogun State.

In a statement by the Ogun State Police Public Relations Officer on Monday, ASP Abimbola Oyeyemi, Ajayi was robbed along Atan-Igbesa road on the 27th January, 2017. According to him, “The incident was immediately reported and the operatives of FSARS have been on the trail of the hoodlums since then. Their efforts paid off, when the operatives received a vital information about their hide-out in Seme border and the place was stormed.

“The robbers engaged the team in a gun duel, which lasted for about an hour. At the end of the encounter, four among the syndicate namely, Adewale Rasaq ‘m’ 27yrs, Keneth Ohimai ‘m’ 38yrs, Segun Idike ‘m’ 19yrs and Hassan Mussa ‘m’ 25yrs were arrested. The fifth one, Joseph Housus who escaped with gun wound was later arrested at Ajase in Benin Republic where he went for treatment. Efforts are on to extradite him back to Nigeria.

“Recovered from them are four pump action guns, one locally made pistol and 30 live cartridges. On interrogation, they confessed being the syndicate that robbed the V.C. and that the Toyota Jeep has been sold off to Republic of Benin. We are working in conjunction with the security agents in Benin Republic for possible recovery of the vehicle

“Meanwhile, the Commissioner of Police, CP Ahmed Iliyasu has commended the gallantry displayed by the FSARS men and advised them not to rest on their oars until the state is rid of crime and criminality. He equally appealed, to the members of the Public not to relent on their efforts in giving necessary information to the police in order to have a crime free society.”

READ  Nigerian army says it has killed 53 Boko Haram fighters

Your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.